Skip to main content

FDA RULING ON GLUTEN FREE LABELING

 

SUMMARY:

On August 12, 2020, the FDA issued a final rule on the gluten-free labeling of fermented or hydrolyzed foods. It covers foods such as yogurt, sauerkraut, pickles, cheese, green olives, FDA-regulated beers and wines (e.g., generally those with less than 7 percent alcohol), and hydrolyzed plant proteins used to improve flavor or texture in processed foods such as soups, sauces, and seasonings.   The rule does not change the definition of “gluten-free” but establishes compliance requirements for these hydrolyzed and fermented foods.   It also includes a discussion of how FDA will verify compliance for distilled foods such as vinegar.

COMPLETE DETAILS:

Visit - https://www.fda.gov/food/food-labeling-nutrition/gluten-free-labeling-foods